Go Back   English Forum Switzerland > Help & tips > Transportation/driving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09.12.2007, 09:26
bozothedeathmachine's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arni, AG
Posts: 302
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 111 Times in 55 Posts
bozothedeathmachine is considered knowledgeablebozothedeathmachine is considered knowledgeablebozothedeathmachine is considered knowledgeable
Just got an e-mail from Fahrschul Pruefer. Is it legit?

I just received an e-mail saying I need to take a driving test. I'm from the US, have a valid license, and have only been in CH since July. I know I have a year to get my Swiss license. First, is this a legit letter? If so, then what's it all about? We just got a car a couple of weeks ago. That could be what triggered this. But I still don't know why I got it.

As it's .com and not .ch I'm thinking it might be spam of some sort. The web site just looks like a study guide type of thing.

Thanks..


Quote:
Guten Tag,

Sie als Inhaber der E-Mail-Adresse removed werden hiermit zur Fahrprüfung vorgeladen. Nutzen Sie folgenden Link zur Teilnahme:

http://www.Fahrschul-Pruefer.com/

Sie werden gebeten, die Prüfung sofort durchzuführen und abzuschließen. Bitte benutzen Sie folgenden Link:

http://www.Fahrschul-Pruefer.com/



Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Ihre Führerscheinstelle

Last edited by Lou; 10.12.2007 at 19:55. Reason: email address removed
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09.12.2007, 09:58
mark's Avatar
The Architect
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Zollikon, Switzerland
Posts: 3,182
Groaned at 3 Times in 3 Posts
Thanked 418 Times in 115 Posts
mark has a reputation beyond reputemark has a reputation beyond reputemark has a reputation beyond reputemark has a reputation beyond reputemark has a reputation beyond reputemark has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Just got an e-mail from Fahrschul Pruefer. Is it legit?

Well the only people who can compel you to do this sort of thing are the Strassenverkehrsamt (Motor registry office / department of vehicles, etc). So, given that the the place you land up doesn't exactly look official, I think you can be sure it is spam.

I also suggest you remove your email address from that post, unless you want to turn your spam trickle into a flood... I don't know where else you use that email address, but if you've put it out in public on this forum before, then there's a good chance it was lifted from this forum to make that spam.
__________________
Help: How to get more from searches | How to use tags | Please do not PM me for help on permits, jobs or salaries
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09.12.2007, 12:19
EastEnders's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Biel/Bienne
Posts: 844
Groaned at 7 Times in 6 Posts
Thanked 576 Times in 254 Posts
EastEnders has a reputation beyond reputeEastEnders has a reputation beyond reputeEastEnders has a reputation beyond reputeEastEnders has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Just got an e-mail from Fahrschul Pruefer. Is it legit?

Quote:
View Post
I just received an e-mail saying I need to take a driving test. I'm from the US, have a valid license, and have only been in CH since July. I know I have a year to get my Swiss license. First, is this a legit letter? If so, then what's it all about? We just got a car a couple of weeks ago. That could be what triggered this. But I still don't know why I got it.

As it's .com and not .ch I'm thinking it might be spam of some sort. The web site just looks like a study guide type of thing.

Thanks..

First and foremost if the cantonal Strassenverkehrsamt would want you to take the test again they'd send a letter by snail mail and NEVER via email,but you are responsible to ge the licence changed into a swiss one and it's not them who'll invite/remind you to do so.

Then,if it were from a swiss official office, it would always have the ending .ch in the website address,so you defo got spammed
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheapest way to mail to US wah Other/general 0 08.11.2007 19:53
Mail on saturdays? moula Daily life 9 11.08.2007 18:32
Does your mail disappear? Jarlsberg2 Complaints corner 23 12.06.2007 16:05
Can I get the post office to forward my mail for me..? hayleyickle Other/general 6 30.04.2007 11:42
Favorite Legit Streaming Online Content for CH? dannyt986 TV/internet/telephone 4 14.01.2007 16:10


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0