View Single Post
Old 04.03.2016, 16:28

Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
ritzdank has no particular reputation at present
Re: Online trading in Swizerland

Quote:
PostFinance beats it.
I am fairly new to investing and my interest got actually triggered through a meeting with an adviser from Postfinance who called me one day. Apart from trying to sell me a life insurance (thanks but no), he suggested that I could invest a reasonable part of my cash assets in bonds and/or funds.

So, I made the decision to open an e-trading account and to invest 50k. I was intrigued by the idea of "dollar cost averaging" (investing once every month/quarter/year instead of investing the entire 50k). Before doing the necessary clicks, I stumbled upon two books (The intelligent investor and A random walk down wallstreet) and luckily read them. The problem now is, that I am much more aware of the potential risks and opportunities which actually makes me feel more paralyzed than before. Not only taking risks, but also facing incredible differences in fees make me hesitant to start using the Postfinance account (especially after looking at Schwab, TD Ameritrade). Both authors remind you constantly that if you are on low risk, yields won't be higher than 2-4% which means keep you broker fees as low as possible.

Coming back to your comment:

Quote:
Given 5000 CHF, it would be 50 CHF, with the private account plus it's 25 CHF instead, which is inline with what other trading platforms charge.
However, there is no custody fee or fee for selling (which is not the case with SwissQuote or InteractiveBrokers).