View Single Post
Old 08.06.2020, 07:50

Re: Any good family lawyer for defending fathers in child custody matter?

Quote:
View Post
Thank you everyone for your helpful and thoughtful responses.

Regarding the distance that mother wants to move.
People get stuck to the fact that it's 45 km, but what matters to me as I said above is that it takes 1h20m w/ public transportation from my home, or 50min-1h with the car, all one way.
Why I find this bad? It's not in the kid's best interest. I don't know the law, and I am not a lawyer obviously, but here's why I think that is:
  • It'll be hard for the baby to come to my place because of the distance (assuming that during the first months/years? I won't get any overnights or extended time because baby is breastfeeding)
  • For the baby to be able to spend time at our current flat will make the transition easier (I guess). This flat is all this baby has known. Yes I know that they are babies and can adapt fast and whatnot, but AFAIK, you must not change/disrupt what has been a routine/normality for a baby. Suddenly going to live in a another flat, sounds too disruptive to me and can be stressful for the baby. Baby's feeling of home is this flat. I am not saying that baby should never move out, but being able to spend time here too, will ease the transition.
  • It's in baby's best interest to spend as much quality time with both parents as reasonably possible, and have easy access to BOTH parents. Spending time in trains or in car baby seats (which babies hate), is not really quality time. It's actually time lost.
  • When kid grows, it'd be so convenient for all of us if we can simply walk from one place to the other.
Some people are asking why she wants to move there; it's her mom's place. Though of course I find it reasonable and helpful if she has family to help, however, I do think easy access to the father (to cover / help etc) should be of higher priority than access of the grandmother. Is this totally unreasonable?