Go Back   English Forum Switzerland > Living in Switzerland > Complaints corner  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14.03.2011, 23:14
Newbie 1st class
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Zürich
Posts: 12
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
louisdeanne has no particular reputation at present
dispointing service in Bern

Hi everyone,

i had an uncomfortable experience in Bern today, in a friseur. The friseuse cut my ear by accident and it bled. She warped it up without saying anything, even not an apology. i though they would not charge me this time or at least they would offer me a “Rabatte” as a courtesy. i was wrong. They asked for full price. i mean, i came along just to buy a bleeding ear? No way. i told them that i would only pay for the hair cut in condition that they would pay my medical treatment as well. They refused flatly and called the police. The police forced me to pay the friseuse and told me that it was my responsibility to pay for the service. What about my loss? “Who would take responsibility for my bleeding ear? Me?” He said yes. i don’t know was that a problem of language barrier or just because i am not local in Bern.
Anyone else had the same experience before? Or am i the only loser here?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14.03.2011, 23:20
jrspet's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Quaint Wädenswil, Zürich, CH
Posts: 8,131
Groaned at 27 Times in 20 Posts
Thanked 7,036 Times in 3,912 Posts
jrspet has a reputation beyond reputejrspet has a reputation beyond reputejrspet has a reputation beyond reputejrspet has a reputation beyond reputejrspet has a reputation beyond reputejrspet has a reputation beyond repute
Re: dispointing service in Bern

Welcome to the forum.
Reply With Quote
This user would like to thank jrspet for this useful post:
  #3  
Old 14.03.2011, 23:27
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: dispointing service in Bern

Did she cut your ear off? Did you need medical treatment like stitches? Or was it just a little cut with a little blood that just dried up and that's it?
Whichever, she should have apologised, I agree. What do you expect now?

Oh, welcome to the forum. Perhaps an introduction would be nice.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15.03.2011, 09:00
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lyss
Posts: 910
Groaned at 37 Times in 29 Posts
Thanked 883 Times in 434 Posts
glinaa has a reputation beyond reputeglinaa has a reputation beyond reputeglinaa has a reputation beyond reputeglinaa has a reputation beyond repute
Re: dispointing service in Bern

I'd wipe my blood off with a banknote and pay them with that.
Reply With Quote
The following 3 users would like to thank glinaa for this useful post:
  #5  
Old 15.03.2011, 12:35
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: dispointing service in Bern

Ittigen, it is so kind of you to offer to help sue the pants of the hairdresser. She should defo have apologised, and should have offered a reduction I totally agree. But surely the next stage depends on the seriousness of the cut and whether it needed any medical attention, or just a little plaster. No?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15.03.2011, 12:43
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: dispointing service in Bern

I once had my hair cut by a grizzled old ex-military Greek, who cut a slice of my head off with a cut-throat razor, then proceeded to douse the bloody, gaping hole with iodine. It stung so much I wanted to cry, but I didn't want to ruin the reputation of my countrymen, so I maintained a stiff upper lip throughout (and anaesthetised myself with a large brandy on the way home).

Sue? Complain to the police? Pah!

Pay up and go somewhere else next time.
Reply With Quote
The following 2 users would like to thank for this useful post:
  #7  
Old 15.03.2011, 12:50
mirfield's Avatar
Moddy Wellies
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 8,729
Groaned at 53 Times in 47 Posts
Thanked 9,942 Times in 3,654 Posts
mirfield has a reputation beyond reputemirfield has a reputation beyond reputemirfield has a reputation beyond reputemirfield has a reputation beyond reputemirfield has a reputation beyond reputemirfield has a reputation beyond repute
Re: dispointing service in Bern

You weren't charged extra for her dressing your ear? You were lucky. There's normally very little free in Switzerland.

I'd go with "Suck it up". Don't use them again and don't recommend them.
Reply With Quote
This user would like to thank mirfield for this useful post:
  #8  
Old 15.03.2011, 13:46
Newbie 1st class
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Zürich
Posts: 12
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
louisdeanne has no particular reputation at present
Re: dispointing service in Bern

Quote:
View Post
Hi Louise I am sorry to hear about this arrogance. I find their behaviour to be very bad.

I would go to the police and lay a charge of assault against the hair dressing shop. If you like I will come with you.

It will cost you nothing, and you can ask the judge for CHF 5,000 compensation (You might get a few hundred). Ask for an interpreter, the loser will have to pay. The witness that you were injured is the policeman that told you to pay up, ask for him to appear also. State in your accusation that you have received no apology nor compensation and that you had to pay the full amount. Keep the receipt from the shop.
Thanks very much for your kindness. My husband had already got in touch with the boss of that policeman. As a matter of fact, my husband and i are kind of doing some investment cases in Bern. So we can see some so called "big boss" due to business relationship. He promised to see to it and give us feedback soon.

Of course they didn't cut my ear off but it was by no means a small scratch. i don't care how much money i should pay for this, i only asked for the basic respect to people, to everyone. i could see no respect when they were reluctant to offer any reduction since their "service" was apparently "deducted".

When i asked for apology from the friseuse, she acted like she was so much humiliated that she refused to apologize at first, but at last she apologized, which i felt much more better.

Anyway, i think i will take your suggestions and let it go. just not to recommend it and drag this coiffure to my black list and that's all.
Reply With Quote
The following 2 users would like to thank louisdeanne for this useful post:
  #9  
Old 15.03.2011, 16:29
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: dispointing service in Bern

Quote:
View Post
Thanks very much for your kindness. My husband had already got in touch with the boss of that policeman. As a matter of fact, my husband and i are kind of doing some investment cases in Bern. So we can see some so called "big boss" due to business relationship. He promised to see to it and give us feedback soon.
Have you thought of taking a tank along next time you visit the hairdressers?

After all, if you're going to indulge in a disproportionate response, you might as well do it properly.

Reply With Quote
This user would like to thank for this useful post:
  #10  
Old 16.03.2011, 09:37
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: dispointing service in Bern

Quote:
View Post

I would go to the police and lay a charge of assault against the hair dressing shop....you can ask the judge for CHF 5,000 compensation
FFS.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 16.03.2011, 10:05
grumpygit's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: geneva
Posts: 1,476
Groaned at 29 Times in 16 Posts
Thanked 1,508 Times in 695 Posts
grumpygit has a reputation beyond reputegrumpygit has a reputation beyond reputegrumpygit has a reputation beyond reputegrumpygit has a reputation beyond reputegrumpygit has a reputation beyond reputegrumpygit has a reputation beyond repute
Re: dispointing service in Bern

Introducing the latest accessory for a safer hairdressing experience da da




my pic got lost

Last edited by grumpygit; 16.03.2011 at 12:22. Reason: my pic got lost
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 16.03.2011, 12:21
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: dispointing service in Bern

Quote:
View Post

Keep your bloody nose out of this and remove your groan. You are a despicable trouble maker and we could all be better off without your stupid cryptic comments. .
And who elected you chief police officer of the forum?

Also - how is one a 'dispicable trouble maker' with only 4 posts in the past month, none of which are anymore cryptic than a child's ABC book?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16.03.2011, 13:15
terryhall's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Die Südkürve
Posts: 1,790
Groaned at 11 Times in 10 Posts
Thanked 1,030 Times in 552 Posts
terryhall has a reputation beyond reputeterryhall has a reputation beyond reputeterryhall has a reputation beyond reputeterryhall has a reputation beyond reputeterryhall has a reputation beyond repute
Re: dispointing service in Bern

Hum - sounds like a genuine mistake by the hairdresser, who then apologised when the customer clearly wasn't happy (albeit under duress).

I'd say common sense here is that the salon is at their own discretion to offer a discount or not in the interest of goodwill / customer service - clearly they decided not to.

Personally I'd chalk this up to "everyone makes mistakes" and "this place has crappy service if things don't go 100%" and leave it at that - not sure that getting your police chief business contact involved over a petty case like this is going to reflect too well on how you deal with minor issues that occur in your line of business.

And for the record, I really really dislike the suggestion of "What? They made a mistake? Wow, now you can sue them for 5000 CHF...!" Not everything in life has to have blame and a price tag apportioned to it.
__________________
Zürich Inneoin GAA Club
www.snopes.com - an essential resource for the everday gullible internet reader.
Reply With Quote
The following 2 users would like to thank terryhall for this useful post:
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bike Repair/Service in Bern zeirtz Sports / Fitness / Beauty / Wellness 3 29.07.2009 11:41
Party Service/Catering Bern Guest Other/general 3 15.05.2008 11:06
Party service in Bern??? Brownie Entertainment & dining 5 24.08.2007 11:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0