Go Back   English Forum Switzerland > Living in Switzerland > Complaints corner  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 04.05.2016, 15:44
3Wishes's Avatar
Moderately Amused
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bern area
Posts: 11,145
Groaned at 87 Times in 83 Posts
Thanked 18,850 Times in 8,394 Posts
3Wishes has a reputation beyond repute3Wishes has a reputation beyond repute3Wishes has a reputation beyond repute3Wishes has a reputation beyond repute3Wishes has a reputation beyond repute3Wishes has a reputation beyond repute
Re: gotogate.ch warning

Quote:
View Post
I'm not sure what you mean by this? Swiss / Star Alliance always go by operating carrier and not marketing carrier for mileage calculation. Btw, you can always change the FF number at the point of OLCI or at the airport - you don't need to stick with what was entered at the point of booking
It's been so long I forget why we had to do it that way, but we had to use two different mileage programs because of the airlines that operated the flights - even though all are Star Alliance members or partners. We couldn't simply put everything on Miles n More.

And as you mention, we changed the FF numbers at the airport. Point was, people who don't fly often or don't belong to multiple programs could miss out on points. This was a long-haul, so worth a few thousand points. Then again, I guess those who don't fly much would lose the points anyway after a certain amount of time.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 04.05.2016, 15:52
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Zurich
Posts: 867
Groaned at 16 Times in 14 Posts
Thanked 351 Times in 240 Posts
minimimi is considered knowledgeableminimimi is considered knowledgeableminimimi is considered knowledgeable
Re: gotogate.ch warning

Quote:
View Post

One interesting bit to note - the way the site did the booking made it hard to collect frequent flier points with just one program.
I had a similar issue. The flight booked was with Swiss but I have miles card of another Star Alliance member. A number of websites accepts only Swiss miles&more so have to show the card at the check-in.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 04.05.2016, 16:36
Blueangel's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Küsnacht, Switzerland
Posts: 4,006
Groaned at 113 Times in 101 Posts
Thanked 10,749 Times in 4,740 Posts
Blueangel has a reputation beyond reputeBlueangel has a reputation beyond reputeBlueangel has a reputation beyond reputeBlueangel has a reputation beyond reputeBlueangel has a reputation beyond reputeBlueangel has a reputation beyond repute
Re: gotogate.ch warning

Quote:
View Post
I had a similar issue. The flight booked was with Swiss but I have miles card of another Star Alliance member. A number of websites accepts only Swiss miles&more so have to show the card at the check-in.
If you send an email over to Swiss after making the booking, they will happily add the card details of your prefered Star Alliance airline.

I have several cards, but that's purely an occupational hazard of working in the industry for the last decade. I always ask Swiss to credit the points to my Aegean Miles + Bonus card because OH's family live there, so it's the airline we try to use the most. Swiss have been great at adding the points and usually reply to the email request within 48hrs to confirm it's ben actioned.
Reply With Quote
This user would like to thank Blueangel for this useful post:
  #44  
Old 19.03.2017, 17:32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Nidwalden
Posts: 433
Groaned at 39 Times in 12 Posts
Thanked 447 Times in 187 Posts
salie has an excellent reputationsalie has an excellent reputationsalie has an excellent reputationsalie has an excellent reputation
Re: gotogate.ch warning

I stumbled into this thread while looking into the reputation of Gotogate. The price they offered was going to be 240CHF cheaper than the next one in the list so I was very cautious as I had never heard of them before.

I thought I could always abandon the purchase if I find high charges. There were none. I paid by Visa card and no charges were added. The price I paid was the one I had found on Kayak. Even all the additional options were easy to uncheck. Assuming the flight goes as planned, I would happily use them again.
Reply With Quote
This user would like to thank salie for this useful post:
  #45  
Old 11.04.2017, 23:08
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Meyrin
Posts: 4
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
aAlex has no particular reputation at present
Re: gotogate.ch warning

I used VISA instead of MasterCard and they didn't charge me extra
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 12.04.2017, 10:13
Spinal's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Zurich
Posts: 1,336
Groaned at 11 Times in 10 Posts
Thanked 1,310 Times in 572 Posts
Spinal has a reputation beyond reputeSpinal has a reputation beyond reputeSpinal has a reputation beyond reputeSpinal has a reputation beyond reputeSpinal has a reputation beyond repute
Re: gotogate.ch warning

I used gotogate a few years ago when returning from Siberia (literally).

Turn up at the airport, and while the lady at the counter can find my booking, there's something wrong.

Long story short, the gotogate system didn't finish my booking, so while they took money out of my amex, I didn't have a flight.

Wouldn't use them again.
Reply With Quote
This user would like to thank Spinal for this useful post:
  #47  
Old 12.04.2017, 23:07
zuzi666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Oberwallis
Posts: 247
Groaned at 4 Times in 3 Posts
Thanked 97 Times in 55 Posts
zuzi666 is considered knowledgeablezuzi666 is considered knowledgeablezuzi666 is considered knowledgeable
Re: gotogate.ch warning

I have used gotogate.ch 3 times in last 6 months. no problem so far. it is true that if you don't look really good what you tick, the price can be higher in few seconds. additional to the price I've got on skyscanner.ch. they charged me additionally around 3 CHF due to credit card...
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 27.04.2017, 13:25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: zurich
Posts: 1
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rosannagrimaldi has no particular reputation at present
Re: gotogate.ch warning

I had exactly the same problem , I could contact mastercard, but the fees I woul d need to pay would cancel any benefit. I assume they ( gotogate) do it on purpose
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 27.04.2017, 13:42
Newbie 1st class
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Zürich
Posts: 10
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Broth76 has no particular reputation at present
Re: gotogate.ch warning

Cheaptickets.ch is a cheater.

I bought my tickets and payment was release and tickets cancelled.
I claimed them and nothing was done for a month. After contact skyscanner to ban. They have contacted me back that the refund was done, but I have never received the money back.

I needed to ask to my credit card provider to receive my money back


Quote:
View Post
Have you tried getting in touch with gotogate?
If they are not responsive, filing a *fraud* claim with the credit card company (as Sbrinz mentioned) is your best bet. The credit card company is obliged to retract any claims on your card that you did not approve (some paperwork is involved). If you act quickly, your money will never leave your account.

I thought I would also share my experience booking tickets online. I use skyscanner.ch and momondo.ch to find deals, but whenever redirected to an online travel agent, I always check their reputation first on http://www.trustpilot.com/ (gotogate is very badly rated there).
It is very common for some online travel agent (travelgenio, bravofly and many others) to manipulate prices, so that they appear first on travel search engines then add extra fees (handling fee, credit card surcharge) costs once you filled in all your personal data.

Online travel agents I can recommend, well rated, very transparent and you can avoid any extra payment charge using Sofort payment:
http://www.ebookers.ch
http://www.cheaptickets.ch

The alternative is to book directly with the airline, if you can find the same deal.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 08.01.2019, 17:10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Zurich
Posts: 36
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
nilklin has no particular reputation at present
Re: gotogate.ch warning

I recently had a very bad experience with gotogate and we are never going to use gotogate. As it was a special situation, I think it maybe generally helpful to other readers here:

In Dec 2018, My wife and I had to cancel our international return flight that I had booked via gotogate because of the death of my grandfather. I came to know that many international airlines have a bereavement policy for refund in case you end up cancelling your flight due to death of an immediate family members (also applies to non-refundable tickets usually). In my case, the airline was AirBaltic and they have such a policy (which is also mentioned on their website under Article 5.3.1).

I contacted gotogate regarding cancellation and followed up 2-3 times mentioning the airline link with the airline policy. They gave me wrong information twice on email where they specifically wrote that the airline did not have a death related waiver and that I will not get any refund upon cancellation.

It appeared a copy-paste response from Gotogate so I wrote directly to the airline. The airline immediately told me that I am eligible for full refund. I sent the required documents (death certificate of the deceased family member and a proof of relationship) to the airline and they directly added an authorization for cancellation with full refund on my booking reference and asked me to contact gotogate to process the full refund.

Following this, I forwarded the response from the airline to gotogate and demanded an explanation on why they gave me fraudulent information earlier, to which, they simply said that they apologise for the inconvenience and they will try their best to refund the amount in 2-8 weeks and also deduct CHF 71 per person as refund process fees!!

In summary, Gotogate out-rightly lied to me on email that the airline did not have a bereavement policy and I will not get any refund upon cancellation. I contacted the airline myself and obtained a full refund authorization. This all happened within two weeks of the death of an immediate family member. Now gotogate will simply bill me 142 Fr. for processing the refund, which I can only hope to receive in the next 2 months.

nilklin

PS: I would also assume that they are breaking some legal code when they are misinforming passengers about airline policies (in this case, death related refund policy). I have all their responses on email, but I do not know a platform where I can legally complain against them. If anyone has any suggestion or experiences related to this, please feel free to share.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 08.01.2019, 20:10
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lyss
Posts: 910
Groaned at 37 Times in 29 Posts
Thanked 883 Times in 434 Posts
glinaa has a reputation beyond reputeglinaa has a reputation beyond reputeglinaa has a reputation beyond reputeglinaa has a reputation beyond repute
Re: gotogate.ch warning

Quote:
View Post
Now gotogate will simply bill me 142 Fr. for processing the refund, which I can only hope to receive in the next 2 months.
This is the sole reason why they (and other middlemen) sell tickets slightly cheaper than the airline if booked directly. Any changes, cancellation or other requests carry heavy fees.

I did however have a relatively positive experience with a ticked booked through Opodo. The airline changed the flight times to which I didn't agree and requested a full refund. It took me several phone calls with the Indian-based helpline, but I felt the people there really made it sound as they are committed. I got refunded in full with no deductions.

My general recommendation is to always book airline-direct unless you are absolutely sure you will not need any customer service.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 15.02.2019, 10:25
Newbie 1st class
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Geneve
Posts: 12
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
StevenV has no particular reputation at present
Re: gotogate.ch warning

Was looking to use their services, good thing I stumbled upon this thread first then .
Reply With Quote
This user would like to thank StevenV for this useful post:
  #53  
Old 15.02.2019, 10:41
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Nyon
Posts: 4,869
Groaned at 245 Times in 179 Posts
Thanked 6,617 Times in 3,114 Posts
bowlie has a reputation beyond reputebowlie has a reputation beyond reputebowlie has a reputation beyond reputebowlie has a reputation beyond reputebowlie has a reputation beyond reputebowlie has a reputation beyond repute
Re: gotogate.ch warning

One should avoid questioning the legality of actions being taken as it only gets their backs up and they go into extensive defensive mode. I’m sure their legal team has issued them instructions should a client ever mention the law or threaten a lawsuit.

It is also unwise to ever say “I will never use you again”. An invitation to have them stop helping you. Better to say “I would really like to use your services again and I’m planning X trips over the next months. How can we resolve this that benefits both of us.”

Of course it is OK to lie through your teeth, they are.
Reply With Quote
The following 3 users would like to thank bowlie for this useful post:
  #54  
Old 18.02.2020, 00:13
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Basle
Posts: 2,757
Groaned at 72 Times in 57 Posts
Thanked 1,921 Times in 1,109 Posts
Landers has a reputation beyond reputeLanders has a reputation beyond reputeLanders has a reputation beyond reputeLanders has a reputation beyond reputeLanders has a reputation beyond repute
Re: gotogate.ch warning

I happened to look on swoodoo.de for flights and it forwarded me to seat24.de

They charge for seat reservations even though the reservations are free to make on the airline's website. They also added in the seat reservation price twice - once in the total amount page and added again in the payment page.


Then I thought what am I doing on .de when .ch is likely cheaper.
Then going through the swiss equivalent I found gotogate/supersaver (there are several websites which are clones of each other)
They did charge me 20CHF for a seat booking but only once a
nd it was only later I found out I could have done it for free on the airline's website.
They did add in 50CHF for mastercard payment but overall the price was cheaper than I would have paid on seat24.de.


I used them because they were the only place who offered the particular flight connection I wanted. I checked on the airline's site and the booking was there immediately and with an e-ticket number too.


Hoping for the best, my last booking was cancelled because of the coronavirus!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
**Warning ** Inter Discount** Warning** KarlN Complaints corner 209 26.09.2018 20:30
Rivella (warning: CH newbie alert) silverburn Food and drink 46 29.02.2012 23:15
Warning ! France removes warning signs for fixed radars Verbier Transportation/driving 22 19.05.2011 15:41
Warning! Gav Football/sports 1 22.05.2008 11:15


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0