Go Back   English Forum Switzerland > Off-Topic > Off-Topic > General off-topic  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20.02.2011, 20:33
Begga's Avatar
RIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Basel [Quality not Quantity]
Posts: 2,280
Groaned at 31 Times in 22 Posts
Thanked 2,879 Times in 1,067 Posts
Begga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond repute
Importing "new RAW" to Photoshop CS3

Apparently I can't import RAW files to photoshop anymore.

I've tried;
PS Help -> Updates
This: http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=3647
But it doesn't work!

I've been told to go to Bridge and do Tools -> Cache, but due to some licensing restrictions, I can't even open Bridge...

So now I'm out of ideas. Can somebody please give me tips?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20.02.2011, 21:34
Bertrand - Geneva
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Importing "new RAW" to Photoshop CS3

Quote:
View Post
Apparently I can't import RAW files to photoshop anymore.
anymore ? is your photoshop a legal one ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20.02.2011, 21:41
Begga's Avatar
RIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Basel [Quality not Quantity]
Posts: 2,280
Groaned at 31 Times in 22 Posts
Thanked 2,879 Times in 1,067 Posts
Begga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Importing "new RAW" to Photoshop CS3

That's not really the issue.
The issue is a new camera -> new RAW format.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20.02.2011, 21:43
suzybg's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Edinburgh/ Basel
Posts: 487
Groaned at 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanked 266 Times in 153 Posts
suzybg has earned the respect of manysuzybg has earned the respect of manysuzybg has earned the respect of many
Re: Importing "new RAW" to Photoshop CS3

I thought there was an add on for photoshop - you made need to look for a download that will support your new Raw format. Did your camera come with software?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20.02.2011, 21:51
Bertrand - Geneva
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Importing "new RAW" to Photoshop CS3

Quote:
View Post
That's not really the issue.
The issue is a new camera -> new RAW format.
yeah, issue's different.

Did you have a look to your "camera" website to see if theres some information about that ? (or on photoshop forums ? )
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20.02.2011, 21:58
Begga's Avatar
RIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Basel [Quality not Quantity]
Posts: 2,280
Groaned at 31 Times in 22 Posts
Thanked 2,879 Times in 1,067 Posts
Begga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Importing "new RAW" to Photoshop CS3

Quote:
View Post
I thought there was an add on for photoshop - you made need to look for a download that will support your new Raw format. Did your camera come with software?
Quote:
View Post
Did you have a look to your "camera" website to see if theres some information about that ? (or on photoshop forums ? )
This seams to be a common problem with CS3 in Windows (I even have Vista for the sakes of god!) and the new RAW format.
I've googled the problem and got the solutions I already tried (mentioned in my first post) but don't seam to work for me.
The most reasonable advice I got so far is "get a mac" - but one thing at the time, I don't have endless money [money donations are very welcome].

So, hoping that there are some experts in here that can spread their wisdom?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20.02.2011, 22:01
Bertrand - Geneva
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Importing "new RAW" to Photoshop CS3

well, perhaps using another software to convert your files, until the solution appears ?

I'm using XnView to look at my pictures, it's a freeware and seems to have several Raw formats.

http://www.xnview.com/en/index.html


if, of course, you don't need to work on Raw files...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20.02.2011, 22:09
Begga's Avatar
RIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Basel [Quality not Quantity]
Posts: 2,280
Groaned at 31 Times in 22 Posts
Thanked 2,879 Times in 1,067 Posts
Begga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond reputeBegga has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Importing "new RAW" to Photoshop CS3

Thanks Bertrand, for now I did use the software that came with the camera to convert the RAW files to TIFF, but there isn't much point in shooting RAW if you can't use the RAW files
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21.02.2011, 06:59
Slaphead's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Zürich
Posts: 3,223
Groaned at 34 Times in 30 Posts
Thanked 9,408 Times in 2,870 Posts
Slaphead has a reputation beyond reputeSlaphead has a reputation beyond reputeSlaphead has a reputation beyond reputeSlaphead has a reputation beyond reputeSlaphead has a reputation beyond reputeSlaphead has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Importing "new RAW" to Photoshop CS3

Take a look here. Unfortunately Adobe camera RAW 6.3 is not compatible with PS CS3, but you can use the DNG converter to convert the NEF files to DNG (Adobe's suggested universal RAW format). Once in DNG format you should then be able to open them in CS3 and do your RAW tweaking. I've not had to use this myself so I've no idea how effective it is, but I guess it's worth a shot.

PS not really Switzerland related, so off to off topic it goes
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cs3, photo crash, raw




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I continue my "college"(elite high school) Or pursue an "apprentissage" Julian_ignacio Employment 39 20.04.2010 15:34
Bones And Raw Food "BARF" diet Drewmic Pet corner 4 15.03.2010 16:01
"Importing" Meat Texaner Food and drink 1 10.10.2009 05:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0