Go Back   English Forum Switzerland > Off-Topic > Off-Topic > General off-topic  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11.04.2011, 17:43
Boo Radley's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Zurich
Posts: 68
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 45 Times in 11 Posts
Boo Radley has earned some respectBoo Radley has earned some respect
Can anyone recommend a good media centre set-up?

Hi all,

I am about to splash out and treat myself to an expensive set of surround sound speakers and a new reciever (See below if you're interested!)

I also have a 42" flat screen Samsung. The question now is how do I fill the gap with a component that can play my many Gigabytes of MP3 music and photos?

I have researched a lot but I cannot find a totally satisfactory solution. I would like ONE piece of kit that has a blu-ray player, adequate storage, preferably wi-fi enabled and can connect to my TV to act as the interface to all this.

Option 1: WD TV Live Hub Media Center 1TB - good but has no blu ray
Option 2: Playstation - Not enough storage
Option 3: Dedicated media PC with a blu ray player- big, pricey and probably overkill?

Is anybody else using a decent set-up that they would like to share with me!?

This is what I am buying:

http://www.trustedreviews.com/home-c...-Audio-Apex/p2

http://www.trustedreviews.com/home-c...yo-TX-SR608/p1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11.04.2011, 17:57
Robbster's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Basel
Posts: 99
Groaned at 2 Times in 1 Post
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
Robbster has earned some respectRobbster has earned some respect
Re: Can anyone recommend a good media centre set-up?

I got one of these a year or two ago...still going fine does everything I need....

http://www.dell.com/uk/p/inspiron-zi...hs1&redirect=1

You will have to buy a USB IR to go with it if you want to use y remote with it...but that is not a problem..

Linked to normal TV and the original Yamaha Sound bar with a woof woof woofer..

Down side is that the zino is not easily upgraded...I now have it hard wired to the network instead of the wireless..but the wireless was not a problem.. just too slow..(that could be my router though)
Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media Player - Media centre solutions PlantHead General off-topic 13 26.01.2011 14:05
I want to set up a website - can you recommend someone? goombie Business & entrepreneur 29 07.01.2010 19:10
Can anyone recommend a hotel in the Centre of Basel Chaletchef Entertainment & dining 5 09.11.2009 13:05
Recommend technician to fine-tune sat set-up Zurich area Crumbs TV/internet/telephone 3 24.04.2007 10:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0