Go Back   English Forum Switzerland > Off-Topic > Off-Topic > General off-topic  
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06.06.2011, 14:57
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lausanne
Posts: 1,191
Groaned at 11 Times in 7 Posts
Thanked 1,781 Times in 704 Posts
ceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond repute
printer 'offline'

Does anyone know how to restart a simple HP F380 desktop printer.
If I check it's status it says its offline.
I've switched it off and on and stopped and re-started the printer spooler.
I'm using Windows 7 on a Sony Vaio laptop.
I've changed the ink cartridges and checked that the printer prints and scans.
It's just the link to the pc that's not working.
I'm going to London tomorrow and was hoping to print out various stuff to take with me.
I'd really appreciate some help from one of you computer whizzkids.
  #2  
Old 06.06.2011, 14:59
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: printer 'offline'

Have you inadvertently switched to another printer / fax machine or even to PDF writer (see "Printers" in Control Panel)?
  #3  
Old 06.06.2011, 15:02
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lausanne
Posts: 1,191
Groaned at 11 Times in 7 Posts
Thanked 1,781 Times in 704 Posts
ceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond repute
Re: printer 'offline'

Thanks, but no, it's set as default and was working well a couple of days ago.
  #4  
Old 06.06.2011, 15:05
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: printer 'offline'

Cables all attached?

Also, check paper size settings in the menu - we are forever getting documents from our US counterparts still in "Letter" size rather than A4 and it just sits in the printer queue.
  #5  
Old 06.06.2011, 15:08
Upthehatters2008's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: In the kitchen at parties.
Posts: 4,540
Groaned at 204 Times in 120 Posts
Thanked 6,078 Times in 2,378 Posts
Upthehatters2008 has a reputation beyond reputeUpthehatters2008 has a reputation beyond reputeUpthehatters2008 has a reputation beyond reputeUpthehatters2008 has a reputation beyond reputeUpthehatters2008 has a reputation beyond reputeUpthehatters2008 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: printer 'offline'

Reload the correct driver...
  #6  
Old 06.06.2011, 15:35
TiMow's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fribourg
Posts: 9,295
Groaned at 237 Times in 154 Posts
Thanked 12,188 Times in 5,300 Posts
TiMow has a reputation beyond reputeTiMow has a reputation beyond reputeTiMow has a reputation beyond reputeTiMow has a reputation beyond reputeTiMow has a reputation beyond reputeTiMow has a reputation beyond repute
Re: printer 'offline'

If this has just happened (today?), it could be that the driver didn't load correctly on start-up (expanding on above post).

Try a re-boot - shut down as normal (like at the end of the day), wait a moment, then re-start (switch back on).

Then try to print.
  #7  
Old 06.06.2011, 16:10
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lausanne
Posts: 1,191
Groaned at 11 Times in 7 Posts
Thanked 1,781 Times in 704 Posts
ceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond repute
Re: printer 'offline'

Thank you Sandgrounder and TiMow, and an enormous SHOUTED-OUT
THANK YOU to Upthehatters.
I just installed a new driver and 'hey-presto' we have lift off.
I had wasted almost the entire morning in frustration because I have bank documents etc. and flight info. that I really need to take to London tomorrow.
I was just about to hit the gin and cry.
That's the second time EF has been invaluable.
Thank you all so much.
  #8  
Old 06.06.2011, 16:11
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: printer 'offline'

Now you can just have a gin to celebrate...
  #9  
Old 06.06.2011, 16:29
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lausanne
Posts: 1,191
Groaned at 11 Times in 7 Posts
Thanked 1,781 Times in 704 Posts
ceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond reputeceppych has a reputation beyond repute
Re: printer 'offline'

Quote:
Now you can just have a gin to celebrate...
Well! Since I have your permission.....cheers!
Just wish you could all join me.
  #10  
Old 06.06.2011, 16:32
Mud's Avatar
Mud Mud is offline
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Romandie
Posts: 2,551
Groaned at 26 Times in 23 Posts
Thanked 5,004 Times in 1,827 Posts
Mud has a reputation beyond reputeMud has a reputation beyond reputeMud has a reputation beyond reputeMud has a reputation beyond reputeMud has a reputation beyond reputeMud has a reputation beyond repute
Re: printer 'offline'

Sandgrounder, may I have a shot of whiskey?

(I was gonna say reload the driver...)
Closed Thread




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EF offline Guest Forum support 2 18.03.2011 22:24
EF offline vwild1 Forum support 4 05.02.2009 20:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0