Go Back   English Forum Switzerland > Off-Topic > Off-Topic > General off-topic  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20.06.2008, 09:18
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ricardo : Putting Questions

I thought someone here may know the answer to this: if I ask a question of the seller, is it visible to all viewers of the web page? When I visit the page without logging in, I don't see the question I put earlier until I log in...

dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20.06.2008, 09:54
Mrs. Doolittle's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lugano
Posts: 6,597
Groaned at 129 Times in 95 Posts
Thanked 8,048 Times in 3,746 Posts
Mrs. Doolittle has a reputation beyond reputeMrs. Doolittle has a reputation beyond reputeMrs. Doolittle has a reputation beyond reputeMrs. Doolittle has a reputation beyond reputeMrs. Doolittle has a reputation beyond reputeMrs. Doolittle has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Ricardo : Putting Questions

Quote:
View Post
I thought someone here may know the answer to this: if I ask a question of the seller, is it visible to all viewers of the web page? When I visit the page without logging in, I don't see the question I put earlier until I log in...

dave
I think it has to do with whether the seller has answered the question yet, and then I think once answered it is in plain view, unless initially you opted to send your original question as private, which is a feature.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20.06.2008, 10:03
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ticino
Posts: 3,121
Groaned at 96 Times in 67 Posts
Thanked 4,135 Times in 1,646 Posts
Snoopy has a reputation beyond reputeSnoopy has a reputation beyond reputeSnoopy has a reputation beyond reputeSnoopy has a reputation beyond reputeSnoopy has a reputation beyond reputeSnoopy has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Ricardo : Putting Questions

Hi Dave

The seller then has the option of deciding whether a question that has been asked is of general interest or "private". When he/she answers the question the seller can elect not to make the answer public in which case the question will not appear either.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20.06.2008, 10:06
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Ricardo : Putting Questions

Mmm that's interesting because I have just made an offer via a question pointing out that the minimal bid requested is unrealistic as the item can be bought new for less than his minimum price...It will be interesting to see whether my question appears, as he will consider it a spoiler...

dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20.06.2008, 10:51
Lob's Avatar
Lob Lob is offline
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: -
Posts: 7,795
Groaned at 42 Times in 37 Posts
Thanked 1,973 Times in 1,060 Posts
Lob has a reputation beyond reputeLob has a reputation beyond reputeLob has a reputation beyond reputeLob has a reputation beyond reputeLob has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Ricardo : Putting Questions

so your question's rhetoric then? You've achieved much on your day off, Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20.06.2008, 10:53
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Ricardo : Putting Questions

Not really, there has been a recent occasion where I was waiting for athe final moments of auction to end before buidding, and the item was taken off and sold for below minimum asking price to a "bidder" that simply made a lower offer in his "question". Pretty annoying really as the auction was not allowed to run its course.

The question, even if private, is the dance of the negotiation in any case.

dave


Quote:
View Post
so your question's rhetoric then? You've achieved much on your day off, Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20.06.2008, 11:46
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ticino
Posts: 3,121
Groaned at 96 Times in 67 Posts
Thanked 4,135 Times in 1,646 Posts
Snoopy has a reputation beyond reputeSnoopy has a reputation beyond reputeSnoopy has a reputation beyond reputeSnoopy has a reputation beyond reputeSnoopy has a reputation beyond reputeSnoopy has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Ricardo : Putting Questions

Quote:
View Post
Not really, there has been a recent occasion where I was waiting for athe final moments of auction to end before buidding, and the item was taken off and sold for below minimum asking price to a "bidder" that simply made a lower offer in his "question". Pretty annoying really as the auction was not allowed to run its course.

dave
If bids had already been submitted when it was removed then it would be against Ricardo's T&C's. Although what they would do against the seller is a mystery.

Also, in some cases the seller can activate a button which allows potential buyers to make an offer (don't know off the top of my head whether this is valid for auctions - before a bid has been submitted - or only for fixed price stuff). I tried it once but then stopped because some of the offers were almost an insult and I couldn't be bothered with people who wanted stuff for nothing rather than looking for a good deal.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20.06.2008, 12:02
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Ricardo : Putting Questions

There were no bids in this case (and I was waiting for final minutes before bidding) and the seller modified his minimum price, accepted the minimum bid and closed the sale. Not very fair, but like you said, there's not a lot that can be done.

dave


Quote:
View Post
If bids had already been submitted when it was removed then it would be against Ricardo's T&C's. Although what they would do against the seller is a mystery.

Also, in some cases the seller can activate a button which allows potential buyers to make an offer (don't know off the top of my head whether this is valid for auctions - before a bid has been submitted - or only for fixed price stuff). I tried it once but then stopped because some of the offers were almost an insult and I couldn't be bothered with people who wanted stuff for nothing rather than looking for a good deal.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20.06.2008, 13:34
trace-o
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Ricardo : Putting Questions

I had a problem today with it in that I made a bid and although the price said 11 CHF is said my bid was too low. So I made one for 20 and then it still said it was too low even though the price on the main screen said it was only 11. So I checked the bids made and even when I tried to do one above the highest bid it STILL said that that was too low. Don't know what's going on. And unfortunately, my german is not good enough to find out why.... hmmmm. Interesting.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20.06.2008, 13:50
mimi1981's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London, previously Basel
Posts: 3,773
Groaned at 21 Times in 19 Posts
Thanked 5,792 Times in 2,173 Posts
mimi1981 has a reputation beyond reputemimi1981 has a reputation beyond reputemimi1981 has a reputation beyond reputemimi1981 has a reputation beyond reputemimi1981 has a reputation beyond reputemimi1981 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Ricardo : Putting Questions

Quote:
View Post
I had a problem today with it in that I made a bid and although the price said 11 CHF is said my bid was too low. So I made one for 20 and then it still said it was too low even though the price on the main screen said it was only 11. So I checked the bids made and even when I tried to do one above the highest bid it STILL said that that was too low. Don't know what's going on. And unfortunately, my german is not good enough to find out why.... hmmmm. Interesting.

they probably have a reserve price on the item which means that it will always be too low until the reserve is met.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07.02.2011, 19:47
Cris1973's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Richterswil
Posts: 326
Groaned at 10 Times in 10 Posts
Thanked 354 Times in 154 Posts
Cris1973 has an excellent reputationCris1973 has an excellent reputationCris1973 has an excellent reputationCris1973 has an excellent reputation
Re: Ricardo : Putting Questions

Can anyone tell me how to delete a bid in Ricardo.ch? I have put an offer for a few items, already won one of them, so I want to delete the other one that I am still the higher bid, is that possible?

I canīt find my way with my limited German.

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07.02.2011, 19:59
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Ricardo : Putting Questions

I'm afraid you can't. Once you bid, that's it.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to organize payment methods in ricardo? Bell Other/general 3 20.04.2009 11:05
Paying for my auction winnings[Ricardo] Castro General off-topic 11 07.04.2008 23:52
Putting a catflap in Nanda Housing in general 3 19.07.2007 13:05
Possible actions against Ricardo cheater? muze7 Other/general 5 11.11.2006 00:05


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0