Go Back   English Forum Switzerland > Off-Topic > Off-Topic > General off-topic  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10.06.2017, 11:38
CathHarmony's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Best City, Greatest Nation
Posts: 1,412
Groaned at 197 Times in 109 Posts
Thanked 1,208 Times in 641 Posts
CathHarmony has a reputation beyond reputeCathHarmony has a reputation beyond reputeCathHarmony has a reputation beyond reputeCathHarmony has a reputation beyond reputeCathHarmony has a reputation beyond repute
Quite Likely An Out There Satellite Question

I'm in a rental.

It has a dodgy old legacy BSkyB? satellite on the wall.

quite-likely-out-there-satellite-question-sat.jpg

My TV has an internal tuner with a connection like this (among other connectors)

quite-likely-out-there-satellite-question-img_0183.jpg

Can I reuse the old satellite to get free satellite?

These are the satellite connectors coming out of the wall.

quite-likely-out-there-satellite-question-img_0187.jpg

If its possible to reuse would it be possible to connect these 2 F? connectors to my one F? connector.

Bonus pic of my bumble bee visitors on my supermarket chives that thrived with a little tlc.

quite-likely-out-there-satellite-question-bb.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10.06.2017, 11:57
JagWaugh's Avatar
RIP
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Eglisau
Posts: 7,273
Groaned at 47 Times in 46 Posts
Thanked 14,131 Times in 5,506 Posts
JagWaugh has a reputation beyond reputeJagWaugh has a reputation beyond reputeJagWaugh has a reputation beyond reputeJagWaugh has a reputation beyond reputeJagWaugh has a reputation beyond reputeJagWaugh has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Quite Likely An Out There Satellite Question

Your dish appears to have a dual LNB. This means you could connect two TVs to it.

Your TV is marked "LNB" near the F Connector, which almost certainly means it has the internal circuitry to work with the LNB on the dish.

Connect one of the F connectors to the TV and try "tuning" or "setup" within the satellite menu of the TV.

If the dish is pointed at a satellite, and the signal doesn't need a card to decode the signal, then you'll have satellite TV.

Most of the TV systems will tell you something about signal strength, and even what satellite/band/freqs it is "seeing", which is an indication of if the dish is aimed correctly (and what it is aimed at).

You may need to get a card for the service, or you can re-aim the dish to point at a satellite which doesn't require a card (Google "FTA satellite" for more information)

Here is a (randomly selected) link to BskyB FTA information:
http://www.satellite-calculations.co...nnelNumber.php
__________________
If everyone you know agrees with you consistently, they are either not listening, or not capable of critical thought.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11.06.2017, 10:00
CathHarmony's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Best City, Greatest Nation
Posts: 1,412
Groaned at 197 Times in 109 Posts
Thanked 1,208 Times in 641 Posts
CathHarmony has a reputation beyond reputeCathHarmony has a reputation beyond reputeCathHarmony has a reputation beyond reputeCathHarmony has a reputation beyond reputeCathHarmony has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Quite Likely An Out There Satellite Question

Thank you so much, I got a lot of channels when I ran the tv tuner, over a 1500! 4 worth watching when the apocalypse comes, BBC and CNN,

I didnt do anything fancy like moving the physical satellite and I tried to add the satellites that have the most eu free channels via the TV tuner (they have the ch basics but not the ones mentioned in this post) but haven't managed that even though the tuner? allows me to do this so a little more work to do,

my first foray into satellites is going ok, can't wait to get a more portable one for a camper van.

just in case anyone is interested the tv is an elcheapo aldi ch 99chf TV.

Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11.06.2017, 10:12
JagWaugh's Avatar
RIP
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Eglisau
Posts: 7,273
Groaned at 47 Times in 46 Posts
Thanked 14,131 Times in 5,506 Posts
JagWaugh has a reputation beyond reputeJagWaugh has a reputation beyond reputeJagWaugh has a reputation beyond reputeJagWaugh has a reputation beyond reputeJagWaugh has a reputation beyond reputeJagWaugh has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Quite Likely An Out There Satellite Question

4 in 1500 is better than the utility of an average google search!

EDIT: I'll be impressed if you manage to move the physical satellite. On the one hand even low orbit stuff is pretty hard to get to, on the other you'd really annoy millions of other users.

The menu may allow you to add satellites in the definitions, but if the dish can't "see" them then all you'll get on those channels is bug races. You'd have to point the dish at those satellites to be able to receive their output.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11.06.2017, 11:02
st2lemans's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lugano
Posts: 29,182
Groaned at 2,045 Times in 1,527 Posts
Thanked 34,739 Times in 16,506 Posts
st2lemans has a reputation beyond reputest2lemans has a reputation beyond reputest2lemans has a reputation beyond reputest2lemans has a reputation beyond reputest2lemans has a reputation beyond reputest2lemans has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Quite Likely An Out There Satellite Question

Swiss channels require a decoding card which you can get for a onetime fee of CHF30 or so IF you pay Billag.

Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bskyb satellite




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To all londoners out there: what to do in London with an 18 years old? Singaporella Travel/day trips/free time 14 15.10.2015 22:14
Not quite there yet SusieM Introductions 7 19.02.2011 22:28
Not quite there yet lil_ferret Introductions 5 15.01.2011 10:58
There has to be a job out there somewhere. shazzles Employment 36 05.01.2010 19:06
[Is this likely an] iphone [scam?] bevilachka TV/internet/telephone 4 15.08.2008 16:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0