Go Back   English Forum Switzerland > Off-Topic > Off-Topic > General off-topic  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10.04.2018, 15:07
Elu Elu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Olten
Posts: 461
Groaned at 18 Times in 17 Posts
Thanked 878 Times in 374 Posts
Elu has a reputation beyond reputeElu has a reputation beyond reputeElu has a reputation beyond reputeElu has a reputation beyond reputeElu has a reputation beyond repute
SLI Bridge or not

Hi
I have a technical question.


Someone gave me his old NVidia GTX 980 GPU because he wanted to buy the latest version....


I have now two GTX 980 on my Motherboard, would you recommend connecting them with a SLI Bridge or not?
I read on other Forum that the performance depends on the game. Does anyone have experience with it?
Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10.04.2018, 15:20
TheWolverine's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Zürich
Posts: 1,497
Groaned at 13 Times in 11 Posts
Thanked 1,378 Times in 688 Posts
TheWolverine has a reputation beyond reputeTheWolverine has a reputation beyond reputeTheWolverine has a reputation beyond reputeTheWolverine has a reputation beyond reputeTheWolverine has a reputation beyond reputeTheWolverine has a reputation beyond repute
Re: SLI Bridge or not

Does your motherboard support SLI ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10.04.2018, 15:54
gbn's Avatar
gbn gbn is offline
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Zuri Oberland
Posts: 2,750
Groaned at 109 Times in 74 Posts
Thanked 2,398 Times in 1,124 Posts
gbn has a reputation beyond reputegbn has a reputation beyond reputegbn has a reputation beyond reputegbn has a reputation beyond reputegbn has a reputation beyond repute
Re: SLI Bridge or not

Do the games (the game engine) you play support multiple GPUs?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10.04.2018, 15:55
Newbie 1st class
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Wallisellen
Posts: 23
Groaned at 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanked 16 Times in 11 Posts
bishopx has earned some respectbishopx has earned some respect
Re: SLI Bridge or not

Well SLI is lot of times accompanied with chopiness and huge power draw.
Therefore you should give one to me .

I any case you would need atleast 600-700W power supply, depending on your configuration and compatible motherboard with enough PCI-E lanes for both.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10.04.2018, 16:21
Chemmie's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Zurich
Posts: 4,130
Groaned at 32 Times in 28 Posts
Thanked 4,912 Times in 2,223 Posts
Chemmie has a reputation beyond reputeChemmie has a reputation beyond reputeChemmie has a reputation beyond reputeChemmie has a reputation beyond reputeChemmie has a reputation beyond reputeChemmie has a reputation beyond repute
Re: SLI Bridge or not

The improvement isn't amazingly better-but I had SLI for two 8800 gtx's back in the day, and that powered me through another generation of games (and PC build).


From what I remember, the big benefits is dealing with super high resolutions.


If it doesn't cost you much more, it's worth the improvement imo.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11.04.2018, 09:33
gaburko's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: BL
Posts: 996
Groaned at 158 Times in 106 Posts
Thanked 2,631 Times in 973 Posts
gaburko has a reputation beyond reputegaburko has a reputation beyond reputegaburko has a reputation beyond reputegaburko has a reputation beyond reputegaburko has a reputation beyond reputegaburko has a reputation beyond repute
Re: SLI Bridge or not

Did a few SLIs on my water-cooled rig some time ago, in my view its not worth the hassle. It works only for certain games, there are certain limitations and its not as foolproof as just plugging one card. Most of the SLIs out there are either miners (waster of time) or guys who want to show off benchmarking. Having said that if you've gotten one for free and assuming your PS is powerful enough the only investment you should do is the SLI cable. In that case, give it a go. But if you have to put more money into it, rather consider a single, more powerful card
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11.04.2018, 10:15
Elu Elu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Olten
Posts: 461
Groaned at 18 Times in 17 Posts
Thanked 878 Times in 374 Posts
Elu has a reputation beyond reputeElu has a reputation beyond reputeElu has a reputation beyond reputeElu has a reputation beyond reputeElu has a reputation beyond repute
Re: SLI Bridge or not

Thank you all for your answers.


I have both cards already on my motherboard and they are running well with my 750W power supply.
The only investment would be to buy a sli cable which is at 30 CH more or less. Some games, like witcher 3, are said to run much better.


If I understand you right theres no drawback, some games just use it better than others?
I think I'll give it a try then
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11.04.2018, 11:03
TheWolverine's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Zürich
Posts: 1,497
Groaned at 13 Times in 11 Posts
Thanked 1,378 Times in 688 Posts
TheWolverine has a reputation beyond reputeTheWolverine has a reputation beyond reputeTheWolverine has a reputation beyond reputeTheWolverine has a reputation beyond reputeTheWolverine has a reputation beyond reputeTheWolverine has a reputation beyond repute
Re: SLI Bridge or not

Aye. Get the cable. Try it out. Worst case, you have an SLI cable which could be useful at some point.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13.04.2018, 15:59
Newbie 1st class
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Lausanne
Posts: 12
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
hundra has no particular reputation at present
Re: SLI Bridge or not

Make sure to check which games you play and if they benefit from SLI. Most games are poorly optimized for SLI and require a bit of handy tweaking to benefit. Since you already have it go for it and see. Witcher 3 is a fantastic game but there seem to be quite a few issues with SLI if you google it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13.04.2018, 16:11
aSwissInTheUS's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Zurich area
Posts: 12,786
Groaned at 99 Times in 88 Posts
Thanked 19,577 Times in 8,681 Posts
aSwissInTheUS has a reputation beyond reputeaSwissInTheUS has a reputation beyond reputeaSwissInTheUS has a reputation beyond reputeaSwissInTheUS has a reputation beyond reputeaSwissInTheUS has a reputation beyond reputeaSwissInTheUS has a reputation beyond repute
Re: SLI Bridge or not

What is the benefit of two GPUs (not used for computing but actual graphic stuff) but no SLI/CrossFire link?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13.04.2018, 18:40
Newbie 1st class
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Lausanne
Posts: 12
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
hundra has no particular reputation at present
Re: SLI Bridge or not

My understanding is that if you use SLI the two cards will act as one graphics card which is ideal if you want more performance for gaming. I am not aware of any specific benefit of two cards without SLI for gaming, but maybe anyone better informed can post. Read somewhere that potentially you could assign physx to one card for some benefit but the game need to support it.

Using two cards without SLI can also be useful if you want to assign specific tasks e.g. one card for monitor, one for GPU tasks or specific software/application etc. if you have a user case is this area it could be worth exploring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gaming rig, gpu, sli




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rainbow bridge Lorvig Pet corner 8 24.06.2013 13:58
Bridge IDELT fleurdebri Employment 0 02.04.2013 18:42
not NOT buying a bus ticket or abonnement, being smart? Evita is here Transportation/driving 97 30.10.2010 19:14
Bridge lessons? ApaKhabar Social events 1 31.01.2010 20:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0