Go Back   English Forum Switzerland > Off-Topic > Off-Topic > General off-topic  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16.04.2020, 11:09
John_H's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Up above Nyon
Posts: 4,077
Groaned at 113 Times in 69 Posts
Thanked 5,487 Times in 2,120 Posts
John_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond repute
Any experience with garage door remotes?

We have a Hormann promatic.. The remote doesn't operate the door.. It did at one time after much screwing around and pot luck but then just stopped.

We don't actually use the garage for the car so I never bothered much.. But now I want it to work!!

I've followed all the instructions and youtube videos .. The lights all flash in sequence etc according to the instructions and video.. but it just doesn't work after following the sequences..

Ideas? Buy a new remote? Get somebody in? Who?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16.04.2020, 11:54
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Nyon
Posts: 4,909
Groaned at 248 Times in 182 Posts
Thanked 6,689 Times in 3,146 Posts
bowlie has a reputation beyond reputebowlie has a reputation beyond reputebowlie has a reputation beyond reputebowlie has a reputation beyond reputebowlie has a reputation beyond reputebowlie has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Any experience with garage door remotes?

Are you sure its not a Hormann Problematic?

Weve used Pogar in Nyon in the past. They were not really interested in a one-off private job, but once they agreed they got it done.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16.04.2020, 12:02
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SG
Posts: 8,972
Groaned at 472 Times in 353 Posts
Thanked 11,940 Times in 6,208 Posts
Urs Max has a reputation beyond reputeUrs Max has a reputation beyond reputeUrs Max has a reputation beyond reputeUrs Max has a reputation beyond reputeUrs Max has a reputation beyond reputeUrs Max has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Any experience with garage door remotes?

Perhaps replace the remote's battery first? Given that it worked, even if only once ... that may have been its last breath.

Breaking the remote's casing won't matter if you need a new one anyway, and the battery shouldn't cost more than a few franks. And you could try that when it suits you whereas servicemen may take a few days to show up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16.04.2020, 12:22
John_H's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Up above Nyon
Posts: 4,077
Groaned at 113 Times in 69 Posts
Thanked 5,487 Times in 2,120 Posts
John_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Any experience with garage door remotes?

Quote:
View Post
Are you sure its not a Hormann Problematic?

Weve used Pogar in Nyon in the past. They were not really interested in a one-off private job, but once they agreed they got it done.
Last resort I guess, Pogar..

Quote:
View Post
Perhaps replace the remote's battery first? Given that it worked, even if only once ... that may have been its last breath.

Breaking the remote's casing won't matter if you need a new one anyway, and the battery shouldn't cost more than a few franks. And you could try that when it suits you whereas servicemen may take a few days to show up.
Yup I replaced the battery..

I found the manufacturers instructions online, I've followed all the stuff about reset the remote, changing it from 40bit to 128bit to static codes to rolling codes.. I've followed the instructions to reset the garage unit.. Followed the instructions to pair the remote to the unit.. In all cases it beeps and flashes just like the instructions say.. But no joy, the door just doesn't open.
There are a pile of videos on youtube too, many of these vary slightly from the manufactures instructions, but again followed them, beeps and flashes but no joy. I know the remote it talking to the unit, when I try to air them they flash etc.

It's probably something really stupid..

And yeah, the door works fine from both the bottom on the unit and from the wall switch. I could be a total cheapskate and move the wall switch outside, I'm not really worried about theft.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16.04.2020, 12:26
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Nyon
Posts: 4,909
Groaned at 248 Times in 182 Posts
Thanked 6,689 Times in 3,146 Posts
bowlie has a reputation beyond reputebowlie has a reputation beyond reputebowlie has a reputation beyond reputebowlie has a reputation beyond reputebowlie has a reputation beyond reputebowlie has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Any experience with garage door remotes?

Use local.ch A search there turns up quite a few garage door people.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16.04.2020, 12:30
Tom1234's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kanton Luzern
Posts: 15,784
Groaned at 523 Times in 415 Posts
Thanked 23,281 Times in 9,409 Posts
Tom1234 has a reputation beyond reputeTom1234 has a reputation beyond reputeTom1234 has a reputation beyond reputeTom1234 has a reputation beyond reputeTom1234 has a reputation beyond reputeTom1234 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Any experience with garage door remotes?

Have you tried cycling the power on the door control unit?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16.04.2020, 12:44
John_H's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Up above Nyon
Posts: 4,077
Groaned at 113 Times in 69 Posts
Thanked 5,487 Times in 2,120 Posts
John_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Any experience with garage door remotes?

Quote:
View Post
Have you tried cycling the power on the door control unit?
Yup .. it's plugged in right beside the unit.

It's just so annoying, something that appears to simple..

Press button on unit.
Hold button on remote until unit flashes.
Press button on unit twice.
Light comes on.

That's supposed to be it.. arrggghhh

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16.04.2020, 13:31
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Risch
Posts: 744
Groaned at 37 Times in 22 Posts
Thanked 810 Times in 417 Posts
KiwiSteve has a reputation beyond reputeKiwiSteve has a reputation beyond reputeKiwiSteve has a reputation beyond reputeKiwiSteve has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Any experience with garage door remotes?

Checked for loose wiring around the receiver?
https://www.garage-door-remotes.co.u...cg-hormann.htm
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20.04.2020, 07:10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Gland
Posts: 225
Groaned at 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanked 132 Times in 93 Posts
Macer is considered knowledgeableMacer is considered knowledgeableMacer is considered knowledgeable
Re: Any experience with garage door remotes?

You could install a garadget. Then your phone will become your remote, and you can do all sorts of automation.

https://www.garadget.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20.04.2020, 10:37
John_H's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Up above Nyon
Posts: 4,077
Groaned at 113 Times in 69 Posts
Thanked 5,487 Times in 2,120 Posts
John_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Any experience with garage door remotes?

Quote:
View Post
Checked for loose wiring around the receiver?
https://www.garage-door-remotes.co.u...cg-hormann.htm
I'm pretty sure the receiver is receiving.. When I try to program it, holding the remote causes the receiver to flash as predicted in the video / instructions.

Quote:
View Post
You could install a garadget. Then your phone will become your remote, and you can do all sorts of automation.

https://www.garadget.com/
Something like this is likely where I'm going with it ..

Inside the garage there is a manual switch to open / close the door. It's a simple switch - short circuit if you like which manually triggers the mechanism.. If I can replace that switch with some other remote control option that should do the job,.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20.04.2020, 12:13
Tom1234's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kanton Luzern
Posts: 15,784
Groaned at 523 Times in 415 Posts
Thanked 23,281 Times in 9,409 Posts
Tom1234 has a reputation beyond reputeTom1234 has a reputation beyond reputeTom1234 has a reputation beyond reputeTom1234 has a reputation beyond reputeTom1234 has a reputation beyond reputeTom1234 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Any experience with garage door remotes?

It could be a fault on the circuit board.

There will be a circuit stage where the signal from the remote gets converted to a pulse to operate the door motor.
The manual wall switch will be connected past this stage (which is why it works).

The remote appears to communicate with the control unit as you say.

The fault could be between the receiving stage/decoding stage and the conversion stage.

Additionally:

Check the wires between the radio module and the motor module.

You didn't say which model you had. There is a LED flash sequence error code table. Have you checked that?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20.04.2020, 13:25
John_H's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Up above Nyon
Posts: 4,077
Groaned at 113 Times in 69 Posts
Thanked 5,487 Times in 2,120 Posts
John_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond reputeJohn_H has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Any experience with garage door remotes?

Quote:
View Post
It could be a fault on the circuit board.

There will be a circuit stage where the signal from the remote gets converted to a pulse to operate the door motor.
The manual wall switch will be connected past this stage (which is why it works).

The remote appears to communicate with the control unit as you say.

The fault could be between the receiving stage/decoding stage and the conversion stage.

Additionally:

Check the wires between the radio module and the motor module.

You didn't say which model you had. There is a LED flash sequence error code table. Have you checked that?
It has a flash sequence when it powers on, however there's no error code as such, the main light flashes 4 times which means the last door position is unknown, it will await the next open close cycle to store the position.

Opening it up shows nothing obvious, everything is clean and plugged in, nothing loose or looks like it's been burnt.
The model is a promatic 3, same as the video I posted previously. I can do exactly as that guy, see the same flashing lights etc but just no cigar.

Unless I'm missing something really silly like it needs to be programmed with the door half open or something, I think as you say, there's something wrong between the receiver and the actuator.

Normally I should just call the regie and complain but that'll just lead to a fight, she'll say I broke it and bill me to have it fixed, I'd rather just botch it myself.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pet door/flap - Great experience Caleb Daily life 3 30.08.2019 17:56
Automatic garage door wattsli1 Transportation/driving 5 10.09.2017 21:47
Automate an existing garage door geneve78 Housing in general 5 18.06.2015 09:57
Automatic Garage door broken handyman needed Jeepers141 Housing in general 0 29.05.2014 15:11
Weird experience in a garage piyohiko Transportation/driving 16 23.03.2012 09:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0