Go Back   English Forum Switzerland > Off-Topic > Off-Topic > General off-topic  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16.03.2021, 11:47
robBob's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Zurich
Posts: 3,254
Groaned at 66 Times in 51 Posts
Thanked 3,224 Times in 1,717 Posts
robBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond repute
EF Tech Masters - What's the difference in RAM?

OK! EF Tech masters. I have a question that maybe you experts can answer.
Want to upgrade old Aspire V3-772
Crucial has a scanner that says it has 4 slots.
2 of which are occupied with 4gb Micron Tech 1600 ram
and that it can be upgraded with thier 8gb DDR3L-1600 SODIMMs

Now in comparison shopping have found the ram at Digitec and another lower priced brand.
Can any of you tell not so knowing me what is the diff besides price?

These are the two rams:
https://www.digitec.ch/de/s1/product...upplier=406802

https://www.digitec.ch/de/s1/product...upplier=406802

Also can the 2 4gb rams be kept in with the new 8gb rams or will incompatibility be a problem?

Any advice and or recommendations would be appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited by robBob; 16.03.2021 at 11:58.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16.03.2021, 11:58
Axa's Avatar
Axa Axa is offline
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Suhr, Aargau
Posts: 4,268
Groaned at 72 Times in 67 Posts
Thanked 5,969 Times in 2,812 Posts
Axa has a reputation beyond reputeAxa has a reputation beyond reputeAxa has a reputation beyond reputeAxa has a reputation beyond reputeAxa has a reputation beyond reputeAxa has a reputation beyond repute
Re: EF Tech Masters - What's the difference in RAM?

From specifications, both memory modules are identical: DDR3-1600. L or SODDIM means the physical size of the modules: they fit a laptop motherboard.

For RAM, capacity (8GB) and data transfer rate (1600, forgot the units) matter. So, both memory modules are the same.

Albeit, the data transfer rate is usually limited by the motherboard of your computer. Even if the memory is able to run faster, the computer makes it runs slower or may not be compatible at all. Just make sure in your computer specifications that it is compatible with DDR3-1600 modules.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16.03.2021, 12:05
robBob's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Zurich
Posts: 3,254
Groaned at 66 Times in 51 Posts
Thanked 3,224 Times in 1,717 Posts
robBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond repute
Re: EF Tech Masters - What's the difference in RAM?

Quote:
View Post
From specifications, both memory modules are identical: DDR3-1600. L or SODDIM means the physical size of the modules: they fit a laptop motherboard.

For RAM, capacity (8GB) and data transfer rate (1600, forgot the units) matter. So, both memory modules are the same.

Albeit, the data transfer rate is usually limited by the motherboard of your computer. Even if the memory is able to run faster, the computer makes it runs slower. Just make sure in your computer specifications that it is compatible with DDR3-1600 modules.
Thanks. The manufacture installed 4gb rams are already DDR3-1600, so assume the notebook must support it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16.03.2021, 12:25
Talk to you later's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: ZH
Posts: 1,563
Groaned at 71 Times in 37 Posts
Thanked 2,923 Times in 1,058 Posts
Talk to you later has a reputation beyond reputeTalk to you later has a reputation beyond reputeTalk to you later has a reputation beyond reputeTalk to you later has a reputation beyond reputeTalk to you later has a reputation beyond reputeTalk to you later has a reputation beyond repute
Re: EF Tech Masters - What's the difference in RAM?

CAS Latency might be different on the cheaper one, although it won't be an issue for your usage.

So you have 4 RAM slots? And you are planning to use 2 x 4GB from one manufacturer and 1 x 8GB from another and leave the 4th slot empty?

Mixing RAM should be ok in theory, but sometimes it can cause issues You might have to refer to user guide to see which slot to leave empty. Also make sure your laptop/MOBO allows 8GB on a slot. Max RAM for your MOBO/laptop, 32GB (8GB x 4)?

Last edited by Talk to you later; 16.03.2021 at 12:38.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16.03.2021, 15:18
robBob's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Zurich
Posts: 3,254
Groaned at 66 Times in 51 Posts
Thanked 3,224 Times in 1,717 Posts
robBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond repute
Re: EF Tech Masters - What's the difference in RAM?

Quote:
View Post
CAS Latency might be different on the cheaper one, although it won't be an issue for your usage.

So you have 4 RAM slots? And you are planning to use 2 x 4GB from one manufacturer and 1 x 8GB from another and leave the 4th slot empty?

Mixing RAM should be ok in theory, but sometimes it can cause issues You might have to refer to user guide to see which slot to leave empty. Also make sure your laptop/MOBO allows 8GB on a slot. Max RAM for your MOBO/laptop, 32GB (8GB x 4)?
Not exactly! I want to use the 2 currently empty slots to install 2 additional 8gb modules to have a total of 20gb. According to the crucial scan an upgrade to 8gb per slot is recommended. Actually, the current 4GB ram is from Micron which owns Crucial.
So! Basically, if there is no difference between the V7 and Crucial RAM, I'll go with the V7 and save myself 40 SFr..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16.03.2021, 15:54
hoover1
 
Posts: n/a
Re: EF Tech Masters - What's the difference in RAM?

Quote:
View Post
Not exactly! I want to use the 2 currently empty slots to install 2 additional 8gb modules to have a total of 20gb. According to the crucial scan an upgrade to 8gb per slot is recommended. Actually, the current 4GB ram is from Micron which owns Crucial.
So! Basically, if there is no difference between the V7 and Crucial RAM, I'll go with the V7 and save myself 40 SFr..
I guess you are guessing ... and trying to justify one guess over another one with 40CHF of 'win'(risk reward).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16.03.2021, 16:15
robBob's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Zurich
Posts: 3,254
Groaned at 66 Times in 51 Posts
Thanked 3,224 Times in 1,717 Posts
robBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond repute
Re: EF Tech Masters - What's the difference in RAM?

Quote:
View Post
I guess you are guessing ... and trying to justify one guess over another one with 40CHF of 'win'(risk reward).
Matter of principal.
Why should one pay about 60% more for the same thing?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22.03.2021, 18:52
robBob's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Zurich
Posts: 3,254
Groaned at 66 Times in 51 Posts
Thanked 3,224 Times in 1,717 Posts
robBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond reputerobBob has a reputation beyond repute
Re: EF Tech Masters - What's the difference in RAM?

Update!
Picked up my order today and snapped the 2 new 8gb of V7 RAM into the 2 empty slots and wham bam notebook runs like a gem. Interestingly I not only saved 40 Sfr but I got RAM made in the UK. Never occurred to me that the Brits are still producing RAM. And believe it or not the more expensive Crucial RAM is made in China. Try to figure that out.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22.03.2021, 20:22
NotAllThere's Avatar
Modulo 2
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Baselland
Posts: 15,044
Groaned at 307 Times in 263 Posts
Thanked 23,225 Times in 9,432 Posts
NotAllThere has a reputation beyond reputeNotAllThere has a reputation beyond reputeNotAllThere has a reputation beyond reputeNotAllThere has a reputation beyond reputeNotAllThere has a reputation beyond reputeNotAllThere has a reputation beyond repute
Re: EF Tech Masters - What's the difference in RAM?

You do know that digitec have a comparison function?

The cheaper one is four years newer. DOA shorter. Warranty much shorter (2 years as opposed to 30! - although I've only once in 20 years had a memory chip fail).
Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CES 2018 - So Much for New Tech Medea Fleecestealer General off-topic 6 10.01.2018 18:04
Tech help please Island Monkey General off-topic 13 08.04.2016 11:10
IT tech subforum jmf Forum support 0 04.03.2012 14:20
Lab Tech jobs Bozza Employment 3 26.12.2010 12:53
Mac Tech Support axxxxe Commercial 2 22.03.2010 20:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0