Go Back   English Forum Switzerland > Off-Topic > Off-Topic > General off-topic  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30.03.2009, 10:56
Nickj's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fribourg
Posts: 411
Groaned at 9 Times in 7 Posts
Thanked 62 Times in 43 Posts
Nickj has made some interesting contributions
A stupid question maybe?

We are leaving CH this summer for a stint in the USA, now I know the voltage is different but I was wondering if our lamps will work if we just put a 110v bulb in them? Is it as simple as that, also does anyone know if America uses screw bulbs?
Thanks
Nick.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30.03.2009, 10:59
tomcat's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stewdguard, Germany
Posts: 2,051
Groaned at 45 Times in 31 Posts
Thanked 929 Times in 609 Posts
tomcat has a reputation beyond reputetomcat has a reputation beyond reputetomcat has a reputation beyond reputetomcat has a reputation beyond repute
Re: A stupid question maybe?

It depends on the fittings. America uses screw bulbs, but the sizes are not always compatible. For some of our American lamps, we have found 220 V bulbs here. But not for all.

Your results may be similar.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30.03.2009, 11:19
Nickj's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fribourg
Posts: 411
Groaned at 9 Times in 7 Posts
Thanked 62 Times in 43 Posts
Nickj has made some interesting contributions
Re: A stupid question maybe?

Thanks Tomcat
So if we find compatible sized bulbs they should work then?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30.03.2009, 11:21
Nev
 
Posts: n/a
Re: A stupid question maybe?

The lamps will work fine if you plug them into a 110v socket. All you have to do is change the plug and the bulb. It's 220v electrical appliances like TVs and computers and anything with motor like washing machines designed specifically to run on a particular voltage that shouldn't be plugged into 110v sockets and vice versa. If your lamp has a dimmer addtached you might to have that checked but if it's "straight through" you will have nothing to worry about.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30.03.2009, 11:27
Nickj's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fribourg
Posts: 411
Groaned at 9 Times in 7 Posts
Thanked 62 Times in 43 Posts
Nickj has made some interesting contributions
Re: A stupid question maybe?

Thanks Nev,
That's a few less things to have to sell.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30.03.2009, 11:35
jacek's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Aargau
Posts: 8,310
Groaned at 105 Times in 80 Posts
Thanked 5,833 Times in 3,289 Posts
jacek has a reputation beyond reputejacek has a reputation beyond reputejacek has a reputation beyond reputejacek has a reputation beyond reputejacek has a reputation beyond reputejacek has a reputation beyond repute
Re: A stupid question maybe?

The lamp is a resistive load so practically it shouldnt be a problem. Get the US plug and cut an old one off or alternatively get an adaptor but it's a pain.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So was anybody else stupid enough.... jako Sports / Fitness / Beauty / Wellness 14 22.12.2008 12:53
Stupid Car Tricks edot General off-topic 24 07.08.2008 11:56
really stupid question [how to check AHV balance] spacelab Finance/banking/taxation 23 31.07.2008 12:03
A {Really Stupid} Question about Sky TV radhani1936 TV/internet/telephone 2 28.07.2008 00:09
The BBC - are they that stupid? Colonelboris General off-topic 18 07.02.2008 23:37


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0