Go Back   English Forum Switzerland > Off-Topic > Off-Topic > General off-topic  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03.10.2010, 00:33
Castro's Avatar
la mod
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ZG
Posts: 5,624
Groaned at 124 Times in 100 Posts
Thanked 16,905 Times in 5,370 Posts
Castro has a reputation beyond reputeCastro has a reputation beyond reputeCastro has a reputation beyond reputeCastro has a reputation beyond reputeCastro has a reputation beyond reputeCastro has a reputation beyond repute
How many plugs can you put on a circuit?

Hey all,
We have a small hobby room in the basement which i want to turn into a gym but it only has a single AC socket. I aim to put in a portable Airconditioner (it's quite warm and humid) as well as a cross trainer, treadmill, music system and mini fridge. Is there a formula I can use to calculate how many appliances I can hook up to the socket?

Many thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03.10.2010, 00:36
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: How many plugs can you put on a circuit?

My Learned Companion (who is too busy doing clever maths games on the internet to respond herself) suggests plugging them all in and seeing how long it takes for the circuit breaker to pop.

I'm not entirely convinced that's a good idea, but she's an engineer, so she should know.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03.10.2010, 00:51
Castro's Avatar
la mod
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ZG
Posts: 5,624
Groaned at 124 Times in 100 Posts
Thanked 16,905 Times in 5,370 Posts
Castro has a reputation beyond reputeCastro has a reputation beyond reputeCastro has a reputation beyond reputeCastro has a reputation beyond reputeCastro has a reputation beyond reputeCastro has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How many plugs can you put on a circuit?

Quote:
My Learned Companion (who is too busy doing clever maths games on the internet to respond herself) suggests plugging them all in and seeing how long it takes for the circuit breaker to pop.
this is indeed v.good advice, however if the party pooping circuit breaker does trip, would it be wise to superglue the switch down to stop it interrupting my earnest exercise attempts? on one hand I need to get fit but on the other plunging my village into darkness is a concern
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03.10.2010, 00:56
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: How many plugs can you put on a circuit?

That's a very good question!

I think the idea is to test them before you embark on your programme of exercise.

I'd ask her, but she's got a very serious face on at the moment, and I don't want to disturb her.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03.10.2010, 01:21
Deep Purple's Avatar
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 5,261
Groaned at 15 Times in 14 Posts
Thanked 5,266 Times in 2,560 Posts
Deep Purple has a reputation beyond reputeDeep Purple has a reputation beyond reputeDeep Purple has a reputation beyond reputeDeep Purple has a reputation beyond reputeDeep Purple has a reputation beyond reputeDeep Purple has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How many plugs can you put on a circuit?

The key factor is not the number of appliances, but the total wattage.

Watts = Volts x Amps

If you have 220V supply and a 15A socket, the max. load should not exceed 3300W.

An air conditioner unit could easily be 3000W.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03.10.2010, 01:32
Castro's Avatar
la mod
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ZG
Posts: 5,624
Groaned at 124 Times in 100 Posts
Thanked 16,905 Times in 5,370 Posts
Castro has a reputation beyond reputeCastro has a reputation beyond reputeCastro has a reputation beyond reputeCastro has a reputation beyond reputeCastro has a reputation beyond reputeCastro has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How many plugs can you put on a circuit?

Quote:
View Post
The key factor is not the number of appliances, but the total wattage.

Watts = Volts x Amps

If you have 220V supply and a 15A socket, the max. load should not exceed 3300W.

An air conditioner unit could easily be 3000W.
Cheers DP, armed with this knowledge I had a quick look at the back of my TV and the label says 220V, 2.1A so thats about 460W just there. I will do a bit more investigating to see how many Amps the various items will draw.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Race circuit near Zurich fabio Transportation/driving 30 15.09.2014 20:58
Replace circuit breaker ZONI Other/general 12 27.09.2010 22:05
Who wanted to see what Dijon circuit is like? AndrewD Transportation/driving 3 19.07.2007 21:32


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0