Go Back   English Forum Switzerland > Help & tips > TV/internet/telephone  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old 24.07.2008, 09:39
robban's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lausanne
Posts: 339
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 173 Times in 109 Posts
robban has earned the respect of manyrobban has earned the respect of manyrobban has earned the respect of many
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Quote:
View Post
How do I thank people on englishforum ?
After 10 posts a 'thanks' button appears in the bottom right. You get (I think) 14 days to thank a post, so talk some more and then come back
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 24.07.2008, 09:52
szhjcn's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Zurich
Posts: 1,750
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanked 376 Times in 299 Posts
szhjcn has earned the respect of manyszhjcn has earned the respect of manyszhjcn has earned the respect of many
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

They usually say this can take 30 minutes or sometimes longer before activation happens. This I guess depends on how long the queue is for activation. I am not sure how long they continue to send the activation for. I would recommend having the system setup and powered on when the call is made.

When the call is made, they ask if you are by the box, then ask you to goto the menu to find the viewing card number and box number. The person calling just has to go along with this.....
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 24.07.2008, 13:12
Ed Pummelon's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ZH
Posts: 763
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanked 327 Times in 202 Posts
Ed Pummelon has earned the respect of manyEd Pummelon has earned the respect of manyEd Pummelon has earned the respect of many
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Quote:
View Post
Or buy a 'Freesat' box.

Can't wait for the HD PVR boxes to come out as this is on my shopping list.
I'm holding out for this as well, although it now seems that it's only going to be out around Christmas, which is frustrating.

I was also looking at upgrading my current Sky box to Sky+ HD, but would prefer to avoid any monthly fee.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 08.08.2008, 11:21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vuadens
Posts: 3
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
l_anglaise3 has no particular reputation at present
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

I`ve read some of these posts and am i right in understanding that i can take my sky plus box to switzerland, with no problem as long as i keep my address in england!!
Now will that sky box work on a dish that was put up to use with a french company, i suppose a dish is a dish!!??
Hope someone has the answer
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 08.08.2008, 11:23
szhjcn's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Zurich
Posts: 1,750
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanked 376 Times in 299 Posts
szhjcn has earned the respect of manyszhjcn has earned the respect of manyszhjcn has earned the respect of many
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Yes and No.

Dish is probably pointing at wrong Satellite. So if you can change the Dish position then yes.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 08.08.2008, 17:26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vuadens
Posts: 3
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
l_anglaise3 has no particular reputation at present
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

How do i know which way to point the dish???
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 08.08.2008, 18:18
Blonaybear's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Blonay
Posts: 1,597
Groaned at 4 Times in 4 Posts
Thanked 836 Times in 432 Posts
Blonaybear has a reputation beyond reputeBlonaybear has a reputation beyond reputeBlonaybear has a reputation beyond reputeBlonaybear has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Quote:
View Post
How do i know which way to point the dish???
Search the forum and you will find this.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 11.08.2008, 09:46
szhjcn's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Zurich
Posts: 1,750
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanked 376 Times in 299 Posts
szhjcn has earned the respect of manyszhjcn has earned the respect of manyszhjcn has earned the respect of many
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

http://www.dishpointer.com/
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 14.08.2008, 18:53
BigDave's Avatar
Newbie 1st class
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Zurich
Posts: 14
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
BigDave has no particular reputation at present
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Well, I got it set up at the weekend. One problem I had is that I had 2 LNB's (receiver heads) on my dish. This is because with my old freeview receiver I was tuned into two satellites - Astra at 19.2 degrees east and Astra at 28.2 degrees east. LNB 1 was set to 19.2 degrees and LNB 2 to 28.2 degrees.

This meant that I could simply switch between 2 satellites when using my old receiver.

However, my new SKY box, by default, was only using LNB 1 when I switched it all on for the first time. This meant that I just had a blue screen with a "no signal received" sort of message. I had to swap the two cables around that come from the LNB's into the splitter (or whatever it's called).

Immediately I got the signal from the Astra 2 at 28.2 degrees which is the one SKY uses. It took about 4 hours too get the sports channels after I'd made the call activate. No phone line connected to the SKY Box.

So, if you have more than one LNB, make sure it's LNB 1 that's set up to receive from Astra 2 when you install SKY.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 15.08.2008, 08:41
szhjcn's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Zurich
Posts: 1,750
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanked 376 Times in 299 Posts
szhjcn has earned the respect of manyszhjcn has earned the respect of manyszhjcn has earned the respect of many
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Yup, the SKY boxes aer unable to control any switches ect, therefore the first intput HAS to be the ASTRA 2 one. Same with my Quattro 3 LNB to upto 8 receivers/tuners setup.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 29.10.2009, 18:03
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Basel
Posts: 3
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rockerfeller has no particular reputation at present
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Hi Lob,

I'm a newbie here so just want to make sure I know what I am doing. In the UK I have three boxes including multiroom and I am out of contract. However all three need to stay in the UK -family insists! If I ask for another box at home can I bring it over here? or will they ask it to call up and check its in a UK address / location.

If I can't do this do you know of a way of aquiring a box, dish, card and subscription to do this?

Thanks for you help

Regards

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 29.10.2009, 18:23
Blonaybear's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Blonay
Posts: 1,597
Groaned at 4 Times in 4 Posts
Thanked 836 Times in 432 Posts
Blonaybear has a reputation beyond reputeBlonaybear has a reputation beyond reputeBlonaybear has a reputation beyond reputeBlonaybear has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Have a look at this thread as it might give you an idea of the problems involved.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 14.12.2009, 18:25
Chris77's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Zurich
Posts: 69
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 31 Times in 21 Posts
Chris77 is considered knowledgeableChris77 is considered knowledgeableChris77 is considered knowledgeable
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

When bringing a sky box over from the UK what limitations are there in terms of the housing you can rent if you want a satellite dish? Are there listed buildings that will always say no? Are most landlords likely to say no to an istallation? People talk about using a dish on a stand on a balcony - does the balcony need to face a certain direction to ensure reception?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 14.12.2009, 18:51
Blonaybear's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Blonay
Posts: 1,597
Groaned at 4 Times in 4 Posts
Thanked 836 Times in 432 Posts
Blonaybear has a reputation beyond reputeBlonaybear has a reputation beyond reputeBlonaybear has a reputation beyond reputeBlonaybear has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

You probably won’t get permission to put up a dish so you’ll probably need a stand on the balcony. You need a clear view to the satellite which is 28 degrees East of South.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 14.12.2009, 19:00
Newbie 1st class
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Zurich
Posts: 18
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
golgoth has no particular reputation at present
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

From experience, check with the owner first. As soon as I put my dish up (on a stand), she was after me and demanded that I remove it from the balcony as it "was not allowed and spoils the view".

A few months back, I read that she was almost certainly in the wrong and that I should have gone to the Mieterverband (renters association) and got them to put her right on the matter!

That said, there are owners that are fine with satellite dishes. If someone already has one up, it's usually ok but better to be safe than sorry!

Quote:
View Post
You probably won’t get permission to put up a dish so you’ll probably need a stand on the balcony. You need a clear view to the satellite which is 28 degrees East of South.
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 15.12.2009, 08:54
szhjcn's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Zurich
Posts: 1,750
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanked 376 Times in 299 Posts
szhjcn has earned the respect of manyszhjcn has earned the respect of manyszhjcn has earned the respect of many
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Quote:
View Post
When bringing a sky box over from the UK what limitations are there in terms of the housing you can rent if you want a satellite dish? Are there listed buildings that will always say no? Are most landlords likely to say no to an istallation? People talk about using a dish on a stand on a balcony - does the balcony need to face a certain direction to ensure reception?

Thanks
You should find a place with a south facing Balcony with an un-obstructed view. The owners etc... cannot stop you from placing a Dish inside the Balcony.

Some places may let you posistion a dish outside the Balcony, but this is NOT the norm.

You need min 80cm dish.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 12.02.2010, 13:27
Chris77's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Zurich
Posts: 69
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 31 Times in 21 Posts
Chris77 is considered knowledgeableChris77 is considered knowledgeableChris77 is considered knowledgeable
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Ok, so my sky box has turned up from the UK today. What are the next steps?

My balcony faces just a little south of east but I am in a reasonable size block so it maybe that the reception would be obstructed.

Are there any kind people out there who could help me determine if it is worthwhile my buying a dish etc. And could also help with what the etc equals.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 12.02.2010, 13:29
szhjcn's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Zurich
Posts: 1,750
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanked 376 Times in 299 Posts
szhjcn has earned the respect of manyszhjcn has earned the respect of manyszhjcn has earned the respect of many
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Try thsi site: http://www.dishpointer.com/
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 20.08.2010, 14:54
Sherer4's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
Posts: 50
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 67 Times in 12 Posts
Sherer4 has no particular reputation at present
Can I bring sky tv over from the uk?

Hi all,

I've recently moved to Lausanne and would really like to get sky. I've looked on a few websites and for the whole package it looks pretty expensive.

The thing is I do have a sky tv box/viewing card over in the uk which i'm still paying for, If I bring that over (and can manage to get a satalite on my balcony) is there any reason why this wouldn't work?

Also can anyone recommend a satalite company that covers Lausanne and speaks english?
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 26.09.2010, 15:35
Newbie 1st class
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Zug
Posts: 14
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
darylandrobynne has no particular reputation at present
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

I have just installed a sky dish and found the right angles and set up for the satellite - but thanks only to the good instructions, suggestions and links on this thread.

So i would like to just say thanks to of the contributors on this thread.

Daryl
Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0