Go Back   English Forum Switzerland > Help & tips > TV/internet/telephone  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #81  
Old 15.06.2011, 14:22
MsWorWoo's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Zürich Nord
Posts: 1,853
Groaned at 55 Times in 35 Posts
Thanked 3,008 Times in 1,129 Posts
MsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

I've gone through this thread with interest.
I've got a current SkyHD contract in the UK which the TV part started in December and the phone part in January, and I've got to do 12 months on the phone line. If I move in August, will they deactivate my card because it's not on the phone line like it says it should be? If so, does anyone know a way around this?
I will have to pay until January for the phone and broadband anyway, not sure how that would work with tenants in my house.
Or is there a cable way to get some English speaking channels?
I seriously will need Cbeebies.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 15.06.2011, 15:37
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Quote:
View Post
I've gone through this thread with interest.
I've got a current SkyHD contract in the UK which the TV part started in December and the phone part in January, and I've got to do 12 months on the phone line. If I move in August, will they deactivate my card because it's not on the phone line like it says it should be? If so, does anyone know a way around this?
I will have to pay until January for the phone and broadband anyway, not sure how that would work with tenants in my house.
Or is there a cable way to get some English speaking channels?
I seriously will need Cbeebies.
The card is not "deactivated" if the box is not collected to the phone line, unless you are dumb enough to tell sky you are leaving the country.

I have been using a Sky + box in the Netherlands for 2 years and and Sky HD box in Switzerland for 6 months with zero problems without a phone line.

I have a house in the UK, where I plug the box in at xmas etc. Even then, you could say you unhooked the phone cable accidentally.

The issue comes when sky issue a new access card. I think the box has to be connected to a phone line to "register" the new card. This has happened once in 3 years and there are possible ways around this. Used to be able to use skype, but I'm not sure that's still possible.

I would suggest getting a dish fitted in CH and bringing the box with you.

The phone line issue is less of a problem. If you change telephone providers Sky wouldnt know much about it apart from you've moved to a new provider. I did this and retained the number, but I could have changed it. Sky didn't ask for new number information.

I suppose it would be in a new name in your case. Why don't you offer the phone line/broadband all in to your new tenants or strike a deal?

You can get english channels on Cablecom although the options are limited. No CBeebies that I know off.

Other options are cancelling the contract and asking for a Free to Air card. This would be much cleaner. You retain the box, you can bring it to Switzerland and hook it up without any issues. Problem is your choice of channels maybe limited.

I hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
This user would like to thank for this useful post:
  #83  
Old 15.06.2011, 15:55
MsWorWoo's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Zürich Nord
Posts: 1,853
Groaned at 55 Times in 35 Posts
Thanked 3,008 Times in 1,129 Posts
MsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Ahhh, Thanks for the help.
A quick check of t'internet says cabelcom doesn't have cbeebies, but has radio 2, so at least I'll have sounds of the sixties.

Swisscom has cbeebies and cbbc.... but I've seen on this forum that it's hard to get?
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 15.06.2011, 15:59
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Quote:
View Post
Ahhh, Thanks for the help.
A quick check of t'internet says cabelcom doesn't have cbeebies, but has radio 2, so at least I'll have sounds of the sixties.

Swisscom has cbeebies and cbbc.... but I've seen on this forum that it's hard to get?
Depends wher you live, not a possiblity for me to get Swisscom TV in rural Zug, (not enough bandwidth) so I have a dish. Centre of Zurich/Geneva etc should be no problem.

You can check on the Swisscom site. If you know where you are going to be living.

https://eorderspub.sso.bluewin.ch/an...Anonym&lang=en

Dont forget about billag the Swiss TV license it's a joke. You can search on here to find out about it
Reply With Quote
This user would like to thank for this useful post:
  #85  
Old 15.06.2011, 16:17
MsWorWoo's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Zürich Nord
Posts: 1,853
Groaned at 55 Times in 35 Posts
Thanked 3,008 Times in 1,129 Posts
MsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Quote:
View Post
Depends wher you live, not a possiblity for me to get Swisscom TV in rural Zug, (not enough bandwidth) so I have a dish. Centre of Zurich/Geneva etc should be no problem.

You can check on the Swisscom site. If you know where you are going to be living.

https://eorderspub.sso.bluewin.ch/an...Anonym&lang=en

Dont forget about billag the Swiss TV license it's a joke. You can search on here to find out about it
OK, if I ever find somewhere to live I will try to make sure it's in an area covered by swisscom. And I will get my TV licence ASAP too. A troll of the forum has made me aware that this is VERY IMPORTANT
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 15.06.2011, 16:17
Lou's Avatar
Lou Lou is offline
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Zurich
Posts: 3,782
Groaned at 9 Times in 9 Posts
Thanked 3,227 Times in 1,474 Posts
Lou has a reputation beyond reputeLou has a reputation beyond reputeLou has a reputation beyond reputeLou has a reputation beyond reputeLou has a reputation beyond reputeLou has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

This depends on the contract you have with Sky. If you buy with one of their special offers you must have the the box attached to a phone line for the first 12 months & they do check. They called me after my box had been disconnected for a few days while I was decorating during the first year. After the year is up you are pretty much free to disconnect it with no problems.

Quote:
View Post
The card is not "deactivated" if the box is not collected to the phone line, unless you are dumb enough to tell sky you are leaving the country.
Reply With Quote
This user would like to thank Lou for this useful post:
  #87  
Old 15.06.2011, 16:18
Lou's Avatar
Lou Lou is offline
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Zurich
Posts: 3,782
Groaned at 9 Times in 9 Posts
Thanked 3,227 Times in 1,474 Posts
Lou has a reputation beyond reputeLou has a reputation beyond reputeLou has a reputation beyond reputeLou has a reputation beyond reputeLou has a reputation beyond reputeLou has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

There are other cable providers too. We live in the WWZ (Zug area cable network) and get Cbeebies with them. Other locations have their own local networks too.

Quote:
View Post
OK, if I ever find somewhere to live I will try to make sure it's in an area covered by swisscom. And I will get my TV licence ASAP too. A troll of the forum has made me aware that this is VERY IMPORTANT
Reply With Quote
This user would like to thank Lou for this useful post:
  #88  
Old 15.06.2011, 16:28
MsWorWoo's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Zürich Nord
Posts: 1,853
Groaned at 55 Times in 35 Posts
Thanked 3,008 Times in 1,129 Posts
MsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Quote:
View Post
This depends on the contract you have with Sky. If you buy with one of their special offers you must have the the box attached to a phone line for the first 12 months & they do check. They called me after my box had been disconnected for a few days while I was decorating during the first year. After the year is up you are pretty much free to disconnect it with no problems.
So give up on it then. I signed a 12 month connection for the free HD box and can't see a way out of that.

I guess I'll just have to live without Sky Atlantic etc.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 15.06.2011, 16:35
Lou's Avatar
Lou Lou is offline
Forum Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Zurich
Posts: 3,782
Groaned at 9 Times in 9 Posts
Thanked 3,227 Times in 1,474 Posts
Lou has a reputation beyond reputeLou has a reputation beyond reputeLou has a reputation beyond reputeLou has a reputation beyond reputeLou has a reputation beyond reputeLou has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

You can get out of it. You need to buy out the contract, tell them you have bought a holiday home/caravan and want to be able to move the box's location or that you are getting rid of your land line. It is possible just don't tell them you are leaving the country.

Quote:
View Post
So give up on it then. I signed a 12 month connection for the free HD box and can't see a way out of that.

I guess I'll just have to live without Sky Atlantic etc.
Reply With Quote
This user would like to thank Lou for this useful post:
  #90  
Old 15.06.2011, 16:39
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Quote:
View Post
This depends on the contract you have with Sky. If you buy with one of their special offers you must have the the box attached to a phone line for the first 12 months & they do check. They called me after my box had been disconnected for a few days while I was decorating during the first year. After the year is up you are pretty much free to disconnect it with no problems.
Never had them call me up and the box was disconnected in the UK from the phone for years. Perhaps it's pot luck.
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 15.06.2011, 16:48
MsWorWoo's Avatar
Forum Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Zürich Nord
Posts: 1,853
Groaned at 55 Times in 35 Posts
Thanked 3,008 Times in 1,129 Posts
MsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond reputeMsWorWoo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Maybe it's because it's contracted to be on the phoneline for 12 months, whereas yours was not?
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 15.06.2011, 16:53
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Bring Your Own [Sky] box thread

Quote:
View Post
You can get out of it. You need to buy out the contract, tell them you have bought a holiday home/caravan and want to be able to move the box's location or that you are getting rid of your land line. It is possible just don't tell them you are leaving the country.
Or provide them with a nice UK VOIP number

Q: Sky Multiroom/ SkyHD?

See this post. Read the thread.

Basically you need a Swiss internet connection. A Voip service that provides a UK number. Plug the box into the Swiss router eh voila problem solved. Box thinks its in the UK. Dont use Skype! Also this works with PPV apparently. Clever eh.

Won't be long before Sky work this out, so we'll see.
Reply With Quote
This user would like to thank for this useful post:
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0